Bergamot Trailplace  
An Appalachian Trail
Resource Website

Go Back   Trailplace Forums > Trail Talk > General Trail Talk
Register Photos FAQ Members List Calendar Articles Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 06-02-2008, 08:40 AM

Default Women hiking alone/concerns about the night

This year I'll finally be able to start my sectioning, and I'll be starting in Virginia for the convinence of hiking relativley near my home. Since I'm a teacher and grad student, I'll have access to long weekends this summer to hike usually leaving Thursday night and getting picked up on Sunday night. My husband doesn't have this luxury, as he works in construction, and in construction, when the work is there, you have to do it. Additionally, he has joint issues and can't handle more than a short overnight.

I know many of the safety tips for hikers going it alone, including not telling anyone you're alone, not answering "odd" questions, and I've read the (very helpful) thread on hiking safety. I've also taken self-defense (granted it was several years ago now).

Despite all this preparedness, I'm still not super-confident about hiking alone. It's not the daytime hiking that makes me nervous, it's sleeping alone on the trail. (Truth be told, this is one of the reasons I started the hiking with dogs thread.)

So, my questions are:
1. How populated is the trail in Virginia (especially Shenendoah) in June and July? (I actually trust hikers more than the "outside" world, so I'd feel much better if there were a few hikers to bed down with each night.)
2. How safe does it "feel" out there (especially for us paranoid-types)?
3. Do you have any suggestions/further discussion on how I can make myself feel better about going it alone?

Thanks in advance!
Old 06-02-2008, 11:15 AM